Forty Years of Funding Bright Futures


The Pershing Society Scholarship Program celebrated its milestone 40th anniversary March 1 on campus.

Approximately 300 Pershing Scholar alumni and current Pershing Scholars, administrators, faculty and staff involved with the program, were in attendance to honor former University President Dr. Charles McClain for his vision and foresight in establishing the program. A campaign to fully fund a Pershing Scholar was announced with a $1 million goal. Since the launch of the Thanks a Million, Dr. McClain! campaign on June 1, 2013, nearly $600,000 has been raised in cash, pledge and estate gift commitments.

Attendees enjoyed campus tours and a welcome reception.

Later in the day, everyone gathered for a luncheon that featured several speakers including Rhodes Scholar Andrew McCall (’10), Missouri Supreme Court Chief Justice Mary (Rhodes) Russell (’80), Foundation Board president and Board of Governors member Sarah (Hartmann) Burkemper (’92), Alumni Board member Pamela (Weatherby) Popp (’83), University President Troy Paino, and the honored guest, Dr. McClain.

More information on the Pershing Celebration, including the memories others have shared in the online guestbook, is available at To inquire about the Thanks a Million, Dr. McClain! campaign, contact Brad Chambers or Denise Smith in the Office of Advancement at (660) 785-4133.

Share Button