Corban Williams

Corban Williams

The Truman baseball team returned to postseason action for the first time since 1999 while winning a school-record 26 games in their inaugural season in the GLVC. The Bulldogs garnered one of two wildcard spots into the GLVC championship tournament and as the No. 7 seed, eliminated sixth-seed Lewis (Ill.) and third-seed Indianapolis before being knocked out by eventual champion Drury (Mo.) in the semifinals.

Truman set team season records in runs scored (292), hits (482), RBIs (248), stolen bases (118), hit-by-pitches (76) and fielding percentage (.961) in addition to the wins record. The team posted the fifth-highest batting average for a season at .289.

Individually, Paul Trenhaile rewrote the Bulldog record book for hits in a season (71), most chances (516) and putouts (477). The junior was third in single-season RBIs with 39 and second behind Jarod Hahn in hit-by-pitches with 14. Hahn set a new record with 16 this season.

Corban Williams and Zak Larkin also had big years. Williams set a new club record in steals with 35 and was successful all but two attempts this season. He tied for third in runs scored (42) and finished tied for ninth in hits at 56. Larkin had the most at bats by a Bulldog in a season with 196. In fact, four players this season (Larkin, Trenhaile, Williams and Blake Deaton) finished in the top 10 in at bats. Larkin tied Kenny Swanson’s 2011 record for most walks with 31 and finished right behind Williams in steals with 31.

Mark Roberts threw the fifth most innings in a single-season by a Bulldog hurler with 78. The staff as a whole had the second-fewest walks issued per nine innings at 3.27 this season. The bullpen tied a school record with nine saves and Truman played in 19 one-run games going 10-9.

Head coach Dan Davis became just the second Bulldog manager to eclipse 100 career wins at the school. Davis earned victory 100 against Maryville (Mo.) and has 111 during his Bulldog tenure.

Williams was a first-team All-GLVC selection while Trenhaile, Hahn and Will Nader were named to the second-team.

Share Button